Surfing with Marlene and Orson

I’m sure you know how it is when searching the internet and one idea takes the next and all of a sudden you have moved from browsing for Christmas presents to researching about some German hypnotiser who lived in the 18th Century. Yes that just happened to me and yesterday this was my stream of conscience and surfing: I stumbled upon an old talk show programme on TV with the Danish actress Lily Broberg in which she sang Milord and then I had to check out who wrote that which lead me to Edith Piaf which lead me to watch the film La vie en rose that my sister lent me months ago and in that is a very touching scene where Piaf meets Marlene Dietrich and is completely starstruck.

I don’t know why, but for me that was the highlight of the whole film (which is very good by the way). And of course I had to check out Marlene Dietrich who lulled me to sleep singing Sag mir wo die Blumen sind. And then today when I opened my laptop there she was still and I continued watching some videos and then this came up: a wonderful get together of two of the coolest actors there ever was – la Dietrich and Orson Welles. And when I grow up I want an English bulldog called Orson. Here you are – Orson as a magician and Marlene as mesmerising as ever (yes there he was again the German hypnotiser)

And then I had to check out if those two had done other stuff together and of course they had:

It’s been almost eleven years since I saw Touch of Evil in a Roman cinema on the outskirts of Trastevere so maybe it’s time to watch it again – I had, after all, forgotten that Dietrich was in it… And this concludes the tour.

/anna

This entry was posted in Dvds, Film, Internet, Music, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

