Thomas Winding

I just learned that Thomas Winding, and thus the voice of my childhood, is dead.
Thomas Winding lent his voice to some of the best children’s television programmes ever made when Danish dubbing was needed. His soothing presence is so familiar to me that I can recall his voice instantly and recognise it among thousands. I once even impulsively said hello to him on the street moments before realising that we didn’t actually know each other.

By coincidence I saw him no more than ten days ago at a concert with my favourite orchestra Concerto Copenhagen, and as always his presence, whether actual or via TV, radio or in one of his books written for children, just made me smile. He has deservedly been referred to as “The Voice”, and I am grateful that present and future children will be able to enjoy his fabulous and poetic work. I know he made my childhood a better one.

I couldn’t find a clip from one of those children’s programmes. But here is one from a film about him.

I shall miss him!

/anna

This entry was posted in Literature, Television, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

