Leaf turner

Last night I had the pleasure of attending a wonderful performance of Schubert’s Winterreise with Julius Drake (piano) and Mark Padmore (tenor) in Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek. Truly a concert of international format.

Mark Padmore
Mark Padmore.

For me the concert also constituted a debut in the leaf turner business. Julius Drake only remembered yesterday afternoon that he might be needing a leaf turner for some parts of the cycle. And they called me.

To begin with I wasn’t very enthusiastic but as I was ensured that it would be easy peasy I went there to give it a go at the rehearsal. And it was quite simple and the guys were very nice.

So now I have tried to sit behind the performers instead of in front of them at a concert. Good practise before the opening of the new concert hall here in Copenhagen. The cheap seats are behind the orchestra. That would be me.

Julius Drake
My perspective.

Anyways. I enjoyed the concert very, very much and it was actually an honour to help Julius Drake who recorded one of my all time favourite CDs, the album with Schubert Lieder together with Ian Bostridge. Getting to hear Mark Padmore who made one of my present iPod top listens As Steals the Morn was a wonderful bonus.

/anna

This entry was posted in Concerts, Day-to-day, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaf turner

  1. jensdrejer says:

    Oh no – I´m not f*****g jealous! Not at all!

    Lucky you! 😉

  2. anninateatime says:

    Oh I was waiting for a comment from you… I was after all you who introduced me to the wonders of Ian Bostridge and Julius Drake. For which I am eternally grateful!

    😀

  3. jensdrejer says:

    Then I´m sorry that it took me a couple of days to leave you a comment. The reason is, that I had to go straight to bed when I had read your post. I felt as if I was going to faint or to have a heartattack! I really didn´t think I was going to survive!

    I would love to hear Julius Drake live – and Mark Padmore looks very charming, but I don´t think I´ve ever heard him sing.

  4. anninateatime says:

    😀
    I hope you have recovered! We don’t want any heart attacks!

Leave a Reply

