Items I Like. Needle, Rings, Trees, Plough

I got this cute wall picture from an Italian school in the 50’s for Christmas bought on my favourite outdoor market for old books and prints on the Largo Fontanella Borghese in Rome by good old friend Rughino.
Now it’s on my wall.

Ago, anelli, alberi, aratro

The Italian kids were supposed to learn the letter A which is why I got this particular picture (A is for Anna). We all know this kind of alphabet thing in our different languages: A is for Apple in English, A is for Abe (monkey) in Danish. Here we have Ago (Needle), Anelli (Rings), Alberi (Trees) and Aratro (Plough). Which is sort of a “in-your-face-wannabe-Italian-speaker” for me since I didn’t know the last word. Which apparently is as simple as A is for Apple, A is for Abe for a six-year-old Italian kid.

Now I know. And me likes.

/anna

This entry was posted in Friends, Items and Places I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Items I Like. Needle, Rings, Trees, Plough

Leave a Reply

