In Rome

As already mentioned I have stationed myself at the Accademia di Danimarca in Rome where I will be writing my thesis (or some of it) the next month.

I arrived yesterday after having spent a couple of days in my friends’ flat and how nice it is to be here. I have my own room with the bare necessities of a bed, a desk, a comfortable chair, a large closet, a balcony, and a bath. All furniture, textiles, and lamps are Danish Design mainly from the 50s and 60s as is the building (by Kay Fisker) and all in all I feel like I have walked into some reportage of the royal family’s summer vacation 1962. Maybe that feeling is heightened by the fact that I don’t have to clean or wash my own clothes.

My room
My room.

Beside from this there is a large shared kitchen and living room, a library, a terrace, and some ateliers and music rooms for musicians and artists. Places to meet the other people staying here. All seem very nice and relaxed so I think we will have a good time.

I will be spending most of my time in the library (which is air-conditioned – yay) where I have my own desk. I used the library five years ago when I studied in Rome and I know this to be one of the places I have been most effective as a student. Today I proved myself right by writing the first 1,5 pages of my thesis. Which perhaps seems little to you but it is 0,5 page more than I have set as my daily minimum – so saving up for the weekend 😉

The Library
The Library

Seen from the outside the library reminds me of the library in Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose. Not because it is inhabited by monks, or because people aren’t allowed to come there, or because it is a labyrinth, or because it is particularly medieval. Because it isn’t any of those things. It’s just that it seems like this rejecting tower of knowledge in all its windowlessness and… wallness. But from the inside it is nice and welcoming.
Library
The library is to the right.

Rome is wonderful as always. I strolled around one evening, having an ice cream (caramel and grapefruit) and walking along the Tiber passing Castel Sant’ Angelo and St Peter’s.

Rome by night

On Sunday I visited that Pinturicchio exhibition I mentioned earlier and after having passed through the permanent collection of Palazzo Venezia I sat down in one of the courtyards enjoying a very relaxing concert of French 17th century (I think) songs performed by a small group of singers.

Courtyard of Palazzo Venezia

So there’s an update for you.

/anna

This entry was posted in Art, Photos, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Rome

  1. Rasmus says:

    wow! St. peters…. wow.! You take amazing pictures Anna.

  2. silke says:

    Wow, now I am not only green in my face, I am green from head to toe. Shhhhh, only joking!
    Thanks for the update! I wish you a wonderful time in Rome – writing your thesis is tough enough, so it’s not bad to choose a perfect surrounding. Enjoy and good luck!
    silke:)

Leave a Reply

